A membership plan subscription may exist in any of the following statuses:
- Failed Payment
You may filter profiles by any of these subscription statuses from the Customers page:
Active subscriptions are current and there are no changes that need to be made:
The account owner will be billed at the start of the next billing cycle. You may choose to either cancel an active subscription immediately or at the end of the current billing cycle:
If you choose to cancel, the plan will be moved to the expiring status and will be cancelled and removed from all member's profiles at the end of the billing cycle:
If you choose to cancel immediately, the subscription will be cancelled and removed from all member's profiles without a refund:
Click Add New Member to add a new member to the active subscription:
The activation fee section will display activation fees that have already been paid or waived for an active subscription:
If you are adding new members to a subscription, you may choose to charge or wave activation fees (if applicable) for new members at this time:
You may choose to send the new member a welcome email and/or a receipt email if they are a customer:
NOTE: Only customers may receive emails because dependent profiles do not have email addresses
After adding new members to an active subscription, you must click Continue to save this change:
The account owner will be charged a prorated amount for the new member from the day they are added to the end of the current billing cycle:
Click the trash can icon to remove a member from a subscription:
You may choose to either remove a member at the end of the current billing period, or remove a member immediately:
If you choose to remove a member at the end of the current billing period, they will still be a part of the plan for the remainder of the billing period. Their profile will display here:
Click the restore icon to undo this change:
If you choose to remove a member immediately, they will no longer be a part of the subscription. This cannot be undone and no refund will be issued for this action:
Removing a member from a subscription requires that you click Save to confirm this change:
The account owner for an active subscription may be changed at any time. You may also add a new payment profile to a subscription's current account owner at any time.
If you change owners or payment profiles, the new account owner and/or credit card will be charged at the beginning on the next billing cycle.
You may also change a subscription's billing cycle from monthly to yearly or vice versa at any time. The change will be cued but will not take place until the current billing cycle is completed.
Changing billing period, account owner, or payment profile requires that you click Save to confirm this change:
Any changed to an active plan will be discarded if they are not saved.
When a subscription to a membership plan is first added to a customer's profile, it will be inactive until it has been configured and activated:
Customers will not be billed for inactive plans until they are activated. This status is meant for configuration only, and a subscription may not be moved back to inactive once it is active.
Inactive subscriptions may be changed or removed without consequence.
If a recurring payment fails to process for a subscription, the subscription will be placed in the failed payment status:
You may choose how long a subscription remains in this status before it is cancelled and removed from the member's profiles when configuring the plan itself.
You may choose to make changes to a subscription before reactivating, but any changes will be discarded if you leave the customer's profile without reactivating.
It is likely that you will need to update credit card information for the account owner. To do this, simply add a new payment profile and enter the new card information:
You may also choose to change account owners, add or remove members, or select a different billing cycle at this time.
Once you have made any necessary changes to the subscription, scroll up and click Activate:
This will open the Subscription Summary, where you can review the subscription before clicking Confirm & Pay:
Reactivating a subscription will begin a new billing cycle. The account owner will not be billed again until a month or a year has passed, depending on the option they have selected for the subscription.
Cancelling an active subscription will place it into the expiring status:
If a subscription is in this status, it will be cancelled and removed from the member's profiles at the conclusion of the current billing cycle. It is still technically active, but will not renew.
No changes can be made to a subscription that is expiring.
The subscription may be resumed any time before it expires and in cancelled by simply clicking the Resume button:
No changes are made to the billing cycle if a subscription is resumed. The account owner will simply be charged for another billing cycle at the end of the current one.
If a subscription has been cancelled, it will no longer appear on the members' profiles. Subscriptions will be automatically cancelled after a period of lapsed payment, which may be configured in the plan's settings:
You may still view historical billing information for all membership plan subscriptions by viewing the Billing History section of a customer's Memberships tab: